A to Z Bookish Survey!

Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner created this survey based on the Xanga and Myspace surveys we all used to fill out back in the day – always a guilty pleasure of mine that I still kind of miss, so I’m so happy she wrote a bookish one for all of us to complete!

Author you’ve read the most books from:

This is a really hard question to answer because I can’t just look at my Goodreads and check, since I’ve only been recording read books there for a few months!  I’m guessing Lemony Snicket/Daniel Handler, though, because there were a lot of Series of Unfortunate Events books, plus The Basic Eight (one of my all time favorites.)

Best Sequel Ever:

Oh god, I hardly ever even like sequels.  A Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett is definitely up there on my list of favorites, though, as well as all the Skulduggery Pleasant books (which are just getting darker and gorier and less kid-appropriate as they go on and it’s AWESOME.)  Maybe my problem is just with YA sequels, not other demographics – I feel like they’re often just an excuse to stretch out a story that would be better as a single book.

Currently Reading:

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Tazo Passion tea.  The rate at which I go through boxes of this is ridiculous.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical book, since I get most of my books from the library!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

See, this question is implying I would have actually dated anyone in high school.  No way.  I was such an obnoxious little shit for most of it – I wouldn’t wish dating me on anyone and it seems everyone at my school thought the same,

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  At first I was all UGH, WHY ARE ANGELS THE NEW YA TREND, because seriously, there is nothing at all appealing to me about a bunch of holy douchebags with halos.  Thankfully the angels in this series are nothing like that, and the mythology and world-building of the book are just wonderful.  And, yes, I did fall a little in love with Akiva.

Hidden Gem Book:

One Bloody Thing After Another by Joey Comeau, the author of one of my favorite web comics.  It’s such a weird little book, but I love it.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

That fateful night that my grandmother first began reading me Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  I am a huge 90s kid cliche, yes.

Just Finished:

Rebel Heart.  1) Ugh, that title sounds like a bodice-ripper and 2) SABA, HOW MANY LOVE INTERESTS DO YOU NEED?  Please let the third book focus more on the action and plot, less on adding as many love interests as possible.  Two is okay.  Three is just silly.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Most things involving sports in their main plot.  If I need to know anything about them to understand what the hell is going on, the book’s not for me.  I don’t know a field goal from a three-pointer.  Also, most books with a main character suffering from some kind of life-threatening illness.  Someone got me Before I Die for a birthday a couple years back and I haven’t even read the first page, because EFF THAT.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Goodreads says The Sweet Far Thing, at 819 pages.

Major book hangover because of:

The Book Thief.  Good lord.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

In my own room, four, plus a skinny one that’s meant to shelve CDs but is instead home to my manga, dictionaries/thesauruses, and old diaries.  I’m also pretty sure I count as partial owner to the smaller shelf in my dad’s room that has our Terry Pratchett, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Neil Gaiman collections.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I can’t even count the amount of times I’ve read Inkheart!  My copy is falling to pieces.

Preferred Place To Read:

I know I should say “in bed” – but at this time of year it’s too hot to follow my usual routine of making a blanket nest in bed and reading there.  So right now, I do most of my reading either in the bath or curled up in my favorite chair in our living room.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“How could I have ever been ashamed of loving Dante Quintana?”

This was the point where I started outright sobbing on public transit.  Not one of my finest moments, but one of the finest moments of one of my all time favorite books.

Reading Regret:

The seventh-grade Twilight phase.  I regret so much about that year.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

Despite my love of Inkheart, I’ve never actually read past the first twenty or so pages of Inkdeath.  I don’t think I ever wanted it to be truly over, and I haven’t picked it up since.  Also, Artemis Fowl – I used to buy these the moment I knew they were out, but I haven’t bought or read one since book #6.  Both series were huge parts of my childhood that I really owe it to myself to finish one day.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

The Golden Compass, It, and Aristole and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (already mentioned in this post, see if I care!)

Unapologetic Fangirlboy For:

Holly Black, Courtney Summers, and a very, very long list of manga and anime.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

World After. *grabby hands*

Worst Bookish Habit:

Dog-earing pages… and eating and reading.  No matter how careful you are, it’s really hard to eat spaghetti without getting a little bit of sauce on the book.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor.  I didn’t even know I owned this…?

Your latest book purchase:

Morning Glories, volume 2, thanks to a comic-shop gift card from a friend!

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

I stay up far too late for my own good most nights anyway – but my dad found me asleep on the couch the afternoon after I finished Blood Red Road, as I’d been up at an ungodly hour trying to finish it.

One thought on “A to Z Bookish Survey!

Leave a Reply

