Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten (Um, Five) Books I Wish Had Sequels

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted at The Broke and the Bookish.  This week: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels!

This was really, really tough!  I think that, honestly, there are too many sequels today – it feels like every book needs to be part of a series, and they often suffer for it when it comes to pacing or unnecessarily open endings.  Due to this, I could only think of a Top Five books for the week – I’m sorry, I’m sorry!  I’m just not the biggest fan of sequels, and a bad one can sometimes ruin what could have been an excellent standalone.  However, I could think of five I wouldn’t immediately frown at a sequel for…

1. Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills: This is one of two books that has made me cry over fictional characters in public.  (Both times have been on Greyhound buses, and both have freaked out the poor soul stuck sitting next to me for five hours.  Sorry…)  It wrapped everything up sufficiently for the ending, but I would still love a sequel about Gabe finding his own place in the world post-high school.

2. Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray: I would honestly read sequels to this series even without the supernatural element involved.  I know, that’s like… the whole main plot, but think about this: spinoff novels featuring Ann trying to make her way as a singer and actress – no magical trickery involved this time – or Felicity’s adventures in France… Okay, not gonna lie, I mostly just want more about Felicity, since she’s far and away my favorite character of the trilogy, and I need a book from her POV like I need air.

3. Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist: There are juuuust enough creepy implications that Eli’s “father” started out just like Oskar, as a boy who was in love with her – even more heavily implied by the movie adaptations – to make a great jumping-off point for a sequel.  What happens when the vampire (oops, spoiler warning?) who you love and owe your life to stays young forever while you grow up?

4. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart: Come on, Ms. Lockhart, if you can write, like, ten Ruby Oliver sequels you can write me one for Frankie.  (After you finish We Were Liars, I mean.  I’M SO EXCITED.)

5. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke: This was one of my favorite books as a kid.  But really, what kid wouldn’t be enticed by the idea of running away to Venice (which I’ve always wanted to visit) and living in an old movie theater?  (Inkheart was better, of course, but – Venice!)  I’ve been putting off re-reading it in case it doesn’t measure up to my memories of how magical I thought this book was, but a sequel might be just the thing to get me to do it.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten (Um, Five) Books I Wish Had Sequels

  1. Oh I’ve hear about Beautiful Music for Ugly Children and been meaning to get a copy for a while! I also tried that Gemma Doyle series a long time ago and couldn’t get into it but it was a LONG time ago I really want to give it another try my tastes have changed a lot since!

    • I personally thought Beautiful Music for Ugly Children was awesome, even if it tied up a bit too neatly and I wasn’t interested in any of the romance plotline stuff. But I just get really excited about books with LGBT characters and tend to love them just for that, hahaha.

      Gemma Doyle is good as long as you remember it’s basically The Craft in the Victorian era with all the mean-girlishness that implies. Like, it’s overdramatic contemporary levels of frenemy-ship with the main girls in the first book before shit gets real, which took me a while to be okay with (“I THOUGHT THIS SERIES WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ABOUT GIRLS BEING BADASS MAGIC USING FRIENDS” *FLINGS BOOK ACROSS BED*) but once you get used to that it’s an awesome series.

Leave a Reply

